What I Learned About Student Centered Learning

https://prezi.com/ugt-ealtne1p/student-centered-learning/#

The above link is a presentation I created for a course I’m taking in order to learn to be a better adult educator.  The concept of Student Centered Learning was new to me before I began taking this particular certification.

Our instructor asked me to choose certain areas in the program that I teach (intraoral dental assisting) that weren’t student centered.  This wasn’t hard to do.  Most of the modules that I teach are lecture driven.  I teach the theory behind dental assisting.  The practical component is taught by other instructors.

I chose 3 lessons that did not have much of a practical component and could be improved upon to make them more student centered. Check out the link and see what I came up with.

My intent is to implement these strategies, as I think it will make a positive impact on student learning.

Leave a Reply

